A record to forget – The longest losing streaks in T20 franchise cricket

A record to forget - The longest losing streaks in T20 franchise cricket


From Sydney Thunder to Delhi Daredevils, here are the teams that suffered an unenviable T20 run

The only common theme was the feeling of gloom around Babar Azam’s unity. Add their loss in the 2021 PSL eliminator to Zalmi, and the Kings are now one loss away from becoming the sixth team to lose ten in a row in the men’s franchise T20 leagues.

Here’s a look at the five longest losing runs. (Note: England’s T20 Blast and New Zealand’s Super Smash are not included)

Sydney Thunder: 19
(Big Bash League, 2011-12 to 2013-14)

Thunder lost Game 3 of the inaugural BBL season and would not win again until Game 7 of the tournament’s third edition – their eight-of-eight upset in 2012-13 remains the only example of a team losing every game in the tournament. a BBL campaign.
Daniel Smith, Chris Rogers, Michael Hussey (and even Chris Gayle, for two games) were at the helm during the barren three-plus-year run, with Gayle and Martin Guptill as foreign stars in the first two seasons, and Tillakaratne Dilshan, Eoin Morgan and Ajantha Mendis are part of the setup for 2013-14.
Luckily for Thunder fans, better days lay ahead: they escaped the wooden spoon for the first time in 2014-15, and went the distance the next time around to win their only BBL title.

Saint Lucia Zouks/Stars: 14
(Caribbean Premier League, 2016 to 2018)

Saint Lucia – surname Zouks, at the time – had a decent run in CPL 2016 before going down to Trinbago Knight Riders in the eliminator. They had to wait more than two years for their next victory.
They changed their name to Stars for the next edition, but saw the lights go out in devastating fashion: nine defeats and one scoreless, in what remains the only winless campaign in CPL history. By the time the elusive victory came – in their fifth game of 2018 – a second campaign was beyond the Stars’ reach.

Ironically, they’ve been led by Daren Sammy – the only man to win two T20 World Cup crowns as captain – for most of the gruesome run, and even Kieron Pollard took charge in 2018.

They returned to Zouks as kicker for the next season and managed a top four finish in 2020, ahead of another rebrand to Kings for CPL 2021.

Warriors of Pune India: 11
(Indian Premier League, 2012 to 2013)

The Warriors haven’t really set the stage on fire in their three years of existence in the IPL – their win-loss ratio of 0.363 (12 wins, 33 losses) is almost twice as bad like any other team in the history of the competition – but in 2012, even by those standards, they reached their nadir.
Sourav Ganguly’s side started quite brightly with three wins in their first four games (and four in their first seven) before it all went downhill. The Deccan Chargers had lost five in a row and looked destined for last place, but even they got the double on the Warriors – two wins in six days, in fact – and in the end the Warriors beat the Chargers at the wooden spoon.

While they were without the services of Yuvraj Singh as he recovered from cancer, the Warriors were far from short on resources: Steven Smith, Jesse Ryder, Angelo Mathews, Marlon Samuels and Michael Clarke were among of their overseas contingent, while Robin Uthappa and Ashish Nehra supplied experienced Indian heads.

Delhi Daredevil: 11
(Indian Premier League, 2014 to 2015)

It may seem like a distant memory given the heights of the Capitals era – three consecutive playoff finishes, including a first IPL final in 2020 – but the end of the Daredevils years has been painful to watch from Delhi: six successive editions in out of the top four, four which saw them sit in the bottom two.

The period from 2013 to 2015 was when they hit absolute rock bottom, winning just ten out of 44 matches. .
Two out of five wins in the United Arab Emirates have been followed by nine straight defeats, all nine under the management of Kevin Pietersen. It was, much like the Warriors, a reasonably well-assembled unit – Jean-Paul Duminy, Ross Taylor and Imran Tahir provided weight abroad with Pietersen, while in Dinesh Karthik, M Vijay, Manoj Tiwary and Mohammed Shami, they had a good couple. core – but it never clicked for the Daredevils.
The streak extended to IPL 2015, where they lost their first two matches, before Mayank Agarwal and new record buyer Yuvraj helped the Daredevils out against Punjab.

Antiguan Hawksbills: 10
(Caribbean Premier League, 2013 to 2014)

In their brief CPL existence, the Hawksbills haven’t done much – they’ve only won three times in 16 games spanning two seasons, before being replaced by the Saint Kitts and Nevis franchise for CPL 2015.

Their 2014 contingent, where they suffered eight of ten losses in that streak, was led by Marlon Samuels and included the likes of Carlos Brathwaite, Rahkeem Cornwall and Sheldon Cottrell, all of whom would make a name for themselves in the near future. . Overseas rookies David Hussey, Brad Hogg and Saeed Ajmal brought with them considerable T20 expertise.

Antigua was most affected by the lack of support for Samuels in the batting department; the skipper scored 374 points at 53.42 (SR 141.66) through this series of ten gamesbut no other batter has hit 150 runs and no one who has hit more than twice has even batted 20 runs.