Bangladesh Bat First; Losing the first wickets

BAN Vs AFG, Live Cricket Scores, 2nd T20I: Bangladesh Bat First; Lose Early Wickets

After emphatically ending their eight-game losing streak on Thursday, the Bangladesh national cricket team are aiming to win the two-game T20 series against Afghanistan in Mirpur, Dhaka on Saturday. Earlier, Bangladesh won the ODI series 2-1. Follow BAN vs AFG 2nd T20 live cricket scores at Mirpur on Saturday.


3:25 PM IST: Azmatullah Omarzai gets the big wicket from Shakib Al Hasan for 9 of 15. A leading edge and caught by Rahmanullah Gurbaz, who completes a running catch. Shakib goes for 9 out of 15. Mahmudullah is the new man in the middle. BAN – 45/4 (9.3).

In the previous over, Mohammad Naim had the first pitch missed in the middle of a huge LBW shout from Rashid Khan with Karim Janat hitting the target at the pitcher’s end. He made 13 of 19.

3:05 PM HIST: Rashid Khan with his leg rotation. Three singles from her. In the previous over, Mohammad Nabi also only leaked three. 28 runs and one wicket in the last five. PROHIBITION – 36/2 (7)

2:56 PM IST: TICKET OFFICE ! Right arm pacer Azmatullah Omarzai hits the first ball of his spell. Liton Das looks to confront but instead finds deep square-legged Sharafuddin Ashraf. Das goes for 13 out of 10. Shakib Al Hasan is the new man. BAN – 2/22 (4.1)

2:45 PM IST: TICKET OFFICE ! Mohammad Nabi, right arm off the break, with second over. A point, then Munim Shahriar hits the Afghan skipper for a four. A point, then Shahriar finds Sharafuddin Ashraf halfway. He opts for 4 out of 10. Liton Das, a right-handed hitter, is the new man from Bangladesh. Five points and a wicket from above. BAN – 8/1 (2)

2:37 p.m. HST: Fazalhaq Farooqi, left arm pacer, with the new ball. Munim Shahriar takes the strike. A few widths, then five stitches. A goodbye leg to complete the first. Mohammad Naim is Shahriar’s opening partner. BAN – 3/0 (1)

2:14 p.m. HST: A change for Bangladesh with Mushfiqur Rahim for Yasir Ali. Two for Bangladesh – Usman Ghani and Sharafuddin Ashraf for Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Qais Ahmad.

Bangladesh XI: Mohammad Naim, Liton Das (wk), Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah (c), Munim Shahriar, Afif Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Shoriful Islam, Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman.

Afghanistan XI: Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Usman Ghani, Darwish Rasooli, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi (c), Azmatullah Omarzai, Rashid Khan, Karim Janat, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Sharafuddin Ashraf.

2:05 PM HIST: Bangladesh wins the toss and will defeat first against Afghanistan in the tour final.

Thursday’s 61-point win was Bangladesh’s first T20 win after suffering five consecutive defeats at the UAE T20 World Cup last year and then being beaten 3-0 by Pakistan at home .

Although the margin of victory against Afghanistan looked good, Bangladesh suffered hiccups with four top batsmen falling cheap (80/4) within 11 overs.

However, Bangladesh were saved by a 60-for-44 fight by Litton Das as they finished at 155 for eight after opting to strike first. Afghanistan’s batting inconsistency came back to haunt them and they were all out for 94. It was the second time Bangladesh had eliminated Afghanistan by less than 100 runs.

Bangladesh found a bowling hero in slow left-arm spinner Nasum Ahmed, whose 4-0-10-4 numbers broke the Afghan batter’s back. Afghanistan crashed out 20 for 4, never to recover at Shere Bangla National Stadium.